Production is underway in Vancouver, British Columbia, on the 4th installment in the highly successful Screen Gems/Lakeshore Entertainment Underworld franchise. Underworld 4: New Dawn brings a stunning new dimension to the epic battle between Vampires and Lycans, as the first film in the franchise to shoot in 3D.

Kate Beckinsale, star of the first two films, returns in her lead role as the vampire warrioress Selene, who escapes imprisonment to find herself in a world where humans have discovered the existence of both Vampire and Lycan clans, and are conducting an all-out war to eradicate both immortal species.?

India Eisley is the newest cast member, starring as “Eve” (Selene’s daughter?), while the previously announced Michael Ealy takes on the role of “Detective Sebastian”. Sandrine Holt (Starship Troopers 2, Resident Evil: Apocalypse ) and Robert Lawrenson round out the cast.

Underworld 4, scheduled to arrive in theaters January 20, 2012, is helmed by Swedish directors Mans Marlind & Bjorn Stein, who co-directed the 2009 thriller Shelter starring Julianne Moore and Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Their feature credits also include the award-winning Swedish film Storm.

Producing are Tom Rosenberg (The Lincoln Lawyer, Million Dollar Baby,), Gary Lucchesi (The Lincoln Lawyer, Million Dollar Baby, Underworld), Len Wiseman (Underworld, Live Free Or Die Hard) and Richard Wright (The Lincoln Lawyer, Underworld). The film’s executive producers are David Kern (The Lincoln Lawyer, Fame), David Coatsworth (John Adams, Grey Gardens) Henry Winterstern (Conan The Barbarian, Underworld Evolution) and Skip Williamson (Underworld: Rise of the Lycans, Crank).

The screenplay for Underworld 4 is by Len Wiseman (Underworld, Underworld: Evolution), John Hlavin (The Shield), and Allison Burnett (Gone, Fame).

The talented behind-the-scenes team includes cinematographer Scott Kevan (Death Race, The Losers), Genie award-winning production designer Claude Pare (Barney’s Version, Night At The Museum), Academy Award nominated costume designer Monique Prudhomme (Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus, Juno), and editor Jeff McEvoy (Wonderland, The Lincoln Lawyer).